Annika Sorenstam featured in Team Europe’s final Solheim Cup victory where a moment overshadowed her tournament throughout the Saturday fourballs.
Sorenstam had won both of her matches on the opening day in 2000, as Europe started a 5.5-2.5 edge at Loch Lomond Golf Club, only to be embroiled in a heated debate during her second fixture the subsequent day.
Playing against Kelly Roberts and Pat Hurst, Sorenstam thought after chipping in for birdie from just off the 30, she’d pulled her and Janice Moodie back level.
Sorenstam was accused of playing out of turn, together with the birdie putt of Robbin farther leading to Team USA – after consulting with captain Pat Bradley – ordering the shot to be retaken.
While the Americans defended their decision, asserting they had”followed the rules”, the Europeans described the actions as”unsporting” after Sorenstam was not able to repeat her chip-in.
The European pair moved onto lose the match 2&1 but were still able to bring a five-point lead in the final day, in which the American’s Sunday comeback couldn’t prevent Europe from winning 14.5-11.5.
Click the video over to see the chip-in controversy of Sorenstam!